Aug 30, 2012; Anaheim, CA, USA; Los Angeles Angels center fielder Mike Trout (27) prepares to bat against the Boston Red Sox during the sixth inning at the Angel Stadium of Anaheim. Mandatory Credit: Kelvin Kuo-US PRESSWIRE

Series Preview: Angels Head to the Pacific Northwest

Get used to the phrase the Angels are playing the Mariners tonight. You will be hearing that a lot over the next month. The Angels face the Mariners nine times before the season ends. The last time these two teams matched up the Mariners took two of three in LA.

Aug 30, 2012; Anaheim, CA, USA; Los Angeles Angels center fielder

The M’s are 15-11 for the month of August. They come into the series having taken three of four from the Minnesota Twins. The Mariners are a much different team than they were earlier in the season. They are 15-11 for the month of August.

The Angels are starting to get in a little bit of a groove. They come in winners of seven of their last nine and off sweeping the Boston Red Sox for the second time in as many weeks. They are starting to get back into the Wild Card race as they are only 3.5 games out of one of the spots. Another thing to watch is the status of Howard Kendrick who left yesterday’s game with a sore right knee.

Here are the matchups for the weekend

Friday: Dan Haren vs Kevin Millwood

Saturday: Ervin Santana vs Felix Hernandez

Sunday: TBD vs Hisashi Iwakuma

 

Friday is the only night game at 7:05PT/10:05ET. Saturday and Sunday are each at 1:05PT/4:05ET.

Tags: Los Angeles Angels Seattle Mariners

comments powered by Disqus