Aybar First Angel Shortstop to Win Gold Glove Since ’67

By Unknown author

I noted yesterday in this space that I felt J.J. Hardy was the clear cut favorite to win this season’s AL’s Gold Glove award so I am surprised to be writing this post today. That said, a big hearty congrats to Erick Aybar in taking home his first defensive award, and the first Angel shortstop to do so since Jim Fergosi in 1967.

Aybar joined other first-timers Adrian Gonzalez, Jacoby Ellsbury, Adrian Beltre, Matt Weiters, Nick Markakis and Alex Gordon in the American League. Clayton Kershaw, Joey Votto and Gerardo Parra were named Gold Glove winners for the first time as well over in the National League.

Each league’s complete All-Defensive Team follows the jump.

American League

P — Mark Buehrle, CHW
C — Matt Wieters, BAL
1B — Adrian Gonzalez, BOS
2B — Dustin Pedroia, BOS
SS — Erick Aybar, LAA
3B — Adrian Beltre, TEX
LF — Alex Gordon, KC
CF — Jacoby Ellsbury, BOS
RF — Nick Markakis, BAL

National League

P — Clayton Kershaw, LAD
C — Yadier Molina, STL
1B — Joey Votto, CIN
2B — Brandon Phillips, CIN
SS — Troy Tulowitzki, COL
3B — Placido Polanco, PHI
LF — Gerardo Parra, ARI
CF — Matt Kemp, LAD
RF — Andre Ethier, LAD